top of page

Tertiary Grants

The Trustees of the above Land Trust recognises that education is the key to personal, whanau, hapu and iwi development.  For this reason the Trustees have allocated $5,000 to support tertiary educational achievement of shareholders in the Ngatarawa Ahu Whenua land blocks or their direct descendants.

Successful Recipients

The Trustees congratulate all successful applicants and wish all our tauira well in their future endeavours.


Tertiary Grant Recipients

Dante Steffert

Bea Harrison

Susan Matenga


Tertiary Grant Recipients

  1. Jalen Gemmell

  2. Laura Gemmell

  3. Wairakei Saena

  4. Kellann Kemp

  5. Dante Steffart

  6. Eve Kireka

  7. Leilani Wong 

  8. Bea Harrison



Tertiary Grant Recipients

  1. Jalen Gemmell

  2. Marnie Baker

  3. Brandon Harrison

  4. Dante Steffart

  5. Eve Kireka

  6. Leilani Wong 

2019 Recipients

Tertiary Grant 

  1. Eve Kireka

  2. Shaarai Harris


2018 Recipients

Tertiary Grant 

  1. Marnie Baker

  2. Eve Kireka

  3. Ethan Browne

  4. Brandon Harrison

2017 Recipients

Tertiary Grant 

1. Pania Browne

2. Eve Kireka

2016 Recipients

Ohiti Tertiary Grant

1. Alex Starnes

2. Shaarai Harris

3. Zealandia Cleal

4. Hemi Wong

2015 Recipients

Ohiti Tertiary Grant

  1. Rana McClutchie 

  2. Moana Murray-McCaul

  3. Raiha Hine Huata 

2014 Recipients

Tertiary Grant

  1. Pania Browne 

  2. Moana Murray-McCaul 

  3. Raiha Hine Huata 

  4. Sheridan Mere Olsen 


  • To encourage and recognise the pursuit of academic excellence, knowledge and qualifications of our whanau.

  • The maximum amount paid to each applicant is at the discretion of the Trustees.

  • All applicants that have previously applied for a Tertiary Grant must provide a copy of their results.




  • The 2023 Tertiary Grant applications open on 20 March 2023 and will be advertised on Ngāti Kahungunu Iwi's panui ki te iwi email network, on Te Reo Irirangi o Ngāti Kahungunu, in Hawke's Bay Today and on this website. 

  • The closing date  is 4pm, 20 May 2023

  • All applicants will be informed of the decision by  20 June 2023

  • Disbursement of Tertiary Grants will be paid by 1 July 2023 by direct credit into the applicant's bank account and confirmed by email.

  • Successful applicants will be placed on this website and announced at the following Annual General Meeting. 

bottom of page