Tertiary Grants

The Trustees of the above Ngatarawa Ahu Whenua Trusts recognise that education is the key to personal, whānau, hapū and iwi development. For this purpose the Trustees have allocated up to $5,000 to support tertiary educational achievement of shareholders in the above land blocks or their direct descendants.

Successful Recipients

The Trustees congratulate all successful applicants and wish all our tauira well in their future endeavours.


Tertiary Grant Recipients

  1. Jalen Gemmell

  2. Laura Gemmell

  3. Wairakei Saena

  4. Kellann Kemp

  5. Dante Steffart

  6. Eve Kireka

  7. Leilani Wong 

  8. Bea Harrison



Tertiary Grant Recipients

  1. Jalen Gemmell

  2. Laura Gemmell

  3. Marnie Baker

  4. Brandon Harrison

  5. Dante Steffart

  6. Eve Kireka

  7. Leilani Wong 

  8. Susan Pene


Tertiary Grant Recipients

  1. Eve Kireka

  2. Hemi Wong

  3. Kate Puanaki

  4. Shaarai Harris


Tertiary Grant Recipients

  1. Hemi Wong

  2. Marnie Baker

  3. Eve Kireka

  4. Brandon Harrison

  5. Kate Punaki


Tertiary Grant Recipients

   1. Marnie Baker

   2. Eve Kireka

   3. Hemi Wong


Tertiary Grant Recipients

   1. Alex Starnes

   2. Shaarai Harris

   3. Zealandia Cleal

   4. Hemi Wong



Tertiary Grant Recipients

  1. Rana McClutchie

  2. Moana Murray-McCaul

  3. Raiha Hine Huata 


Tertiary Grant Recipients

  1. Atareta Kemp 

  2. Kate Puanaki 

  3. Moana Murray-McCaul 

  4. Raiha Hine Huata

  5. Sheridan Mere Olsen



  • To encourage and recognise the pursuit of academic excellence, knowledge and qualifications of our whanau.

  • The maximum amount paid to each applicant is at the discretion of the Trustees.

  • Priority will be given to those who are nearest completion of their qualifications and then to those who have reported consistently positive results.

  • All applicants that have previously applied for a Tertiary Grant must provide a copy of their results to be considered again.





  • This process was ratified by the Trustees at their hui held on 1 March 2022.

  • The 2022 Tertiary Grant applications opened on 20 March 2022 and was advertised on Ngāti Kahungunu Iwi's panui ki te iwi, on Te Reo Irirangi o Ngāti Kahungunu, in Hawkes Bay Today and on this website. 

  • The closing date  is 4pm, 20 May 2022

  • All applicants will be informed of the decision by  20 June 2022

  • Disbursement of Tertiary Grants will be paid by 1 July 2022 by direct credit into the applicant's bank account and confirmed by email.

  • Successful applicants will be placed on this website and announced at the following Annual General Meeting.